FES 3.jpg

What's ICRICT?

The Independent Commission for the Reform of International Corporate Taxation is a group of leaders from around the world who believe that, at this moment in history, there is both an urgent need and an unprecedented opportunity to bring about significant reform of the international corporate taxation system. The Commission aims to promote the reform debate through a wider and more inclusive discussion of international tax rules than is possible through any other existing forum; to consider reforms from a perspective of global public interest rather than national advantage; and to seek fair, effective and sustainable tax solutions for development.

The Commission is chaired by José Antonio Ocampo and includes Eva Joly, Rev. Suzanne Matale, Edmund Fitzgerald, Léonce Ndikumana, Ifueko Omoigui Okauru, Jayati Ghosh, Kim Jacinto Henares, Ricardo Martner, Gabriel Zucman, Magdalena Sepúlveda, Thomas Piketty, Wayne Swan and Joseph Stiglitz.

The first meeting of the Commission, held in New York on 18-19 March, 2015, included expert presentations from various stakeholders in the business, academic, labor, investment, governmental and civil society sectors. The Commission also received submissions from participants around the world. Based on the evidence provided and its own deliberations, the Commission launched its Declaration in June of 2015 in Trento, Italy. During the negotiations at the Third International Conference on Financing for Development (FFD) in Addis Ababa in July, ICRICT voiced strong support for an intergovernmental tax body within the UN, and strengthened the resolve of developing countries and civil society to push for this outcome. ICRICT will continue to expand the debate on global tax reform in the coming months.

ICRICT was initiated by a coalition of the following civil society and labor organizations: Action Aid, Alliance-Sud, the Arab NGO Network for Development, the Center for Economic and Social Rights, Christian Aid, the Council for Global Unions, the Global Alliance for Tax Justice, Oxfam, Public Services International, Tax Justice Network, South Center and the World Council of Churches. The creation and work of ICRICT is supported by Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, The Joffe Charitable Trust and The American Assembly.